Statue of Liberty in New York City

Quest Council

The Quest Council and Officers, the governing and policy-making body of QUEST, is a Council elected by the membership. The Council consists of eleven members: the four officers – President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer – and seven members at-large. All members of the Council, including officers, are elected by the general membership for two-year terms.

The Council meets at least once a month during the academic year. It sets membership fees (after consultation with City College’s Center for Worker Education), establishes committees and receives regular reports from the committees, and deals with other governance issues.

Minutes of all Council meetings are made available to the general membership. The President schedules Council meetings and presides at them, presides at general membership meetings, and determines the agenda for meetings. With the advice and consent of the Council, the President appoints committee chairpersons and the editors of all publications. Committee chairpersons then appoint members of their committees with the approval of the President. All committee appointments are for one year.

The Vice President shall act in the absence of the President and assist in the management of QUEST. The Treasurer is responsible for all financial matters pertaining to QUEST activities, including preparing an annual budget and reviewing requests for reimbursements. The Treasurer submits a quarterly financial report to the Council and an annual financial report to the membership. The Secretary records the minutes of all Council and membership meetings.

Current Council Officers and Members-at-Large